Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally requires attunement?Where are the rules for creatures attacking creatures immune to nonmagical weapon attacks?What's an efficient way to handle magical item identification?Can a magic rod be used as a quarterstaff?Is this proposed weapon balanced against the Holy AvengerDoes a magic weapon require the attuner to be proficient?Question about Dawnbringer and Out of the Abyss [Minor Spoilers]Does the Mind Blade count as a magic weapon in the hands of someone other than its intended wielder?What is the rarity of my homebrew shortbow?Can you use an unattuned magic weapon (that requires attunement) as a Warlock pact weapon?Does an unattuned Frost Brand weapon still glow in freezing temperatures?

What's the purpose of "true" in bash "if sudo true; then"

Why did Kant, Hegel, and Adorno leave some words and phrases in the Greek alphabet?

Is there an Impartial Brexit Deal comparison site?

What is difference between behavior and behaviour

How will losing mobility of one hand affect my career as a programmer?

Was Spock the First Vulcan in Starfleet?

Why is delta-v is the most useful quantity for planning space travel?

Curses work by shouting - How to avoid collateral damage?

The plural of 'stomach"

What are the ramifications of creating a homebrew world without an Astral Plane?

Minimal reference content

Ways to speed up user implemented RK4

Is it correct to write "is not focus on"?

Can criminal fraud exist without damages?

Will it be accepted, if there is no ''Main Character" stereotype?

How can I replace every global instance of "x[2]" with "x_2"

Can I Retrieve Email Addresses from BCC?

Is there any reason not to eat food that's been dropped on the surface of the moon?

Valid Badminton Score?

Was the picture area of a CRT a parallelogram (instead of a true rectangle)?

Teaching indefinite integrals that require special-casing

Everything Bob says is false. How does he get people to trust him?

Mapping a list into a phase plot

Is the destination of a commercial flight important for the pilot?



Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally requires attunement?


Where are the rules for creatures attacking creatures immune to nonmagical weapon attacks?What's an efficient way to handle magical item identification?Can a magic rod be used as a quarterstaff?Is this proposed weapon balanced against the Holy AvengerDoes a magic weapon require the attuner to be proficient?Question about Dawnbringer and Out of the Abyss [Minor Spoilers]Does the Mind Blade count as a magic weapon in the hands of someone other than its intended wielder?What is the rarity of my homebrew shortbow?Can you use an unattuned magic weapon (that requires attunement) as a Warlock pact weapon?Does an unattuned Frost Brand weapon still glow in freezing temperatures?













10












$begingroup$


I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice.



Using the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, I decided to make a Warforged, and the Warforged race has a few exclusive magical items, one of which is the armblade. In the description of the armblade, it says:




An armblade isn’t inherently considered to be a magic weapon for purposes of overcoming damage resistance. However, any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




However, as the armblade already requires attunement, if I make a magical weapon that already requires attunement as an armblade, does the resulting weapon require double attunement or something?










share|improve this question









New contributor




Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.







$endgroup$
















    10












    $begingroup$


    I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice.



    Using the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, I decided to make a Warforged, and the Warforged race has a few exclusive magical items, one of which is the armblade. In the description of the armblade, it says:




    An armblade isn’t inherently considered to be a magic weapon for purposes of overcoming damage resistance. However, any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




    However, as the armblade already requires attunement, if I make a magical weapon that already requires attunement as an armblade, does the resulting weapon require double attunement or something?










    share|improve this question









    New contributor




    Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
    Check out our Code of Conduct.







    $endgroup$














      10












      10








      10





      $begingroup$


      I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice.



      Using the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, I decided to make a Warforged, and the Warforged race has a few exclusive magical items, one of which is the armblade. In the description of the armblade, it says:




      An armblade isn’t inherently considered to be a magic weapon for purposes of overcoming damage resistance. However, any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




      However, as the armblade already requires attunement, if I make a magical weapon that already requires attunement as an armblade, does the resulting weapon require double attunement or something?










      share|improve this question









      New contributor




      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.







      $endgroup$




      I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice.



      Using the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, I decided to make a Warforged, and the Warforged race has a few exclusive magical items, one of which is the armblade. In the description of the armblade, it says:




      An armblade isn’t inherently considered to be a magic weapon for purposes of overcoming damage resistance. However, any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




      However, as the armblade already requires attunement, if I make a magical weapon that already requires attunement as an armblade, does the resulting weapon require double attunement or something?







      dnd-5e magic-items weapons warforged






      share|improve this question









      New contributor




      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.











      share|improve this question









      New contributor




      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.









      share|improve this question




      share|improve this question








      edited yesterday









      V2Blast

      25.6k488158




      25.6k488158






      New contributor




      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.









      asked yesterday









      Smart_TJSmart_TJ

      12911




      12911




      New contributor




      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.





      New contributor





      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.






      Smart_TJ is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
      Check out our Code of Conduct.




















          2 Answers
          2






          active

          oldest

          votes


















          14












          $begingroup$

          No, attunement is attunement



          An item can either require attunement or not. The armblade requiring attunement simply means the weapon requires attunement (as in attaching it to yourself) even if the normal variant of the magical weapon doesn't.



          Specifically for the "number of attunements", the restriction is on the number of magical items not the number of attunement, as per the DMG (p. 138):




          An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time.







          share|improve this answer









          $endgroup$












          • $begingroup$
            So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
            $endgroup$
            – Winterborne
            yesterday










          • $begingroup$
            @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
            $endgroup$
            – Someone_Evil
            yesterday


















          3












          $begingroup$

          No, you only attune once




          ..., any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




          The above phrase simply refers to the fact that an armblade can be enchanted in the same way as any other magical weapon.



          That is, magical weapons in the Dungeon's Masters guide (and other sources) state the kinds of weapons that can hold a given type of enchantment.



          For example, "Vicious Weapon" says "Weapon(any)". Meaning that potentially any kind of weapon could be found that has this type of magic: A vicious longsword, a vicious warhammer and so on.



          So, what this is saying is that you could get a vicious armblade in the same way that you could get a vicious longsword. But even if the armblade always requires attunement anyway, this has no additional effect, since you are only limited by the number of items you can attune (not 'enchantments').






          share|improve this answer











          $endgroup$












            Your Answer





            StackExchange.ifUsing("editor", function ()
            return StackExchange.using("mathjaxEditing", function ()
            StackExchange.MarkdownEditor.creationCallbacks.add(function (editor, postfix)
            StackExchange.mathjaxEditing.prepareWmdForMathJax(editor, postfix, [["\$", "\$"]]);
            );
            );
            , "mathjax-editing");

            StackExchange.ready(function()
            var channelOptions =
            tags: "".split(" "),
            id: "122"
            ;
            initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

            StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
            // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
            if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
            StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
            createEditor();
            );

            else
            createEditor();

            );

            function createEditor()
            StackExchange.prepareEditor(
            heartbeatType: 'answer',
            autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
            convertImagesToLinks: false,
            noModals: true,
            showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
            reputationToPostImages: null,
            bindNavPrevention: true,
            postfix: "",
            imageUploader:
            brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
            contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
            allowUrls: true
            ,
            noCode: true, onDemand: true,
            discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
            ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
            );



            );






            Smart_TJ is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.









            draft saved

            draft discarded


















            StackExchange.ready(
            function ()
            StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f143860%2fcan-an-armblade-require-double-attunement-if-it-integrates-a-magic-weapon-that-n%23new-answer', 'question_page');

            );

            Post as a guest















            Required, but never shown

























            2 Answers
            2






            active

            oldest

            votes








            2 Answers
            2






            active

            oldest

            votes









            active

            oldest

            votes






            active

            oldest

            votes









            14












            $begingroup$

            No, attunement is attunement



            An item can either require attunement or not. The armblade requiring attunement simply means the weapon requires attunement (as in attaching it to yourself) even if the normal variant of the magical weapon doesn't.



            Specifically for the "number of attunements", the restriction is on the number of magical items not the number of attunement, as per the DMG (p. 138):




            An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time.







            share|improve this answer









            $endgroup$












            • $begingroup$
              So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
              $endgroup$
              – Winterborne
              yesterday










            • $begingroup$
              @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
              $endgroup$
              – Someone_Evil
              yesterday















            14












            $begingroup$

            No, attunement is attunement



            An item can either require attunement or not. The armblade requiring attunement simply means the weapon requires attunement (as in attaching it to yourself) even if the normal variant of the magical weapon doesn't.



            Specifically for the "number of attunements", the restriction is on the number of magical items not the number of attunement, as per the DMG (p. 138):




            An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time.







            share|improve this answer









            $endgroup$












            • $begingroup$
              So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
              $endgroup$
              – Winterborne
              yesterday










            • $begingroup$
              @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
              $endgroup$
              – Someone_Evil
              yesterday













            14












            14








            14





            $begingroup$

            No, attunement is attunement



            An item can either require attunement or not. The armblade requiring attunement simply means the weapon requires attunement (as in attaching it to yourself) even if the normal variant of the magical weapon doesn't.



            Specifically for the "number of attunements", the restriction is on the number of magical items not the number of attunement, as per the DMG (p. 138):




            An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time.







            share|improve this answer









            $endgroup$



            No, attunement is attunement



            An item can either require attunement or not. The armblade requiring attunement simply means the weapon requires attunement (as in attaching it to yourself) even if the normal variant of the magical weapon doesn't.



            Specifically for the "number of attunements", the restriction is on the number of magical items not the number of attunement, as per the DMG (p. 138):




            An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time.








            share|improve this answer












            share|improve this answer



            share|improve this answer










            answered yesterday









            Someone_EvilSomeone_Evil

            21616




            21616











            • $begingroup$
              So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
              $endgroup$
              – Winterborne
              yesterday










            • $begingroup$
              @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
              $endgroup$
              – Someone_Evil
              yesterday
















            • $begingroup$
              So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
              $endgroup$
              – Winterborne
              yesterday










            • $begingroup$
              @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
              $endgroup$
              – Someone_Evil
              yesterday















            $begingroup$
            So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
            $endgroup$
            – Winterborne
            yesterday




            $begingroup$
            So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap?
            $endgroup$
            – Winterborne
            yesterday












            $begingroup$
            @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
            $endgroup$
            – Someone_Evil
            yesterday




            $begingroup$
            @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one.
            $endgroup$
            – Someone_Evil
            yesterday













            3












            $begingroup$

            No, you only attune once




            ..., any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




            The above phrase simply refers to the fact that an armblade can be enchanted in the same way as any other magical weapon.



            That is, magical weapons in the Dungeon's Masters guide (and other sources) state the kinds of weapons that can hold a given type of enchantment.



            For example, "Vicious Weapon" says "Weapon(any)". Meaning that potentially any kind of weapon could be found that has this type of magic: A vicious longsword, a vicious warhammer and so on.



            So, what this is saying is that you could get a vicious armblade in the same way that you could get a vicious longsword. But even if the armblade always requires attunement anyway, this has no additional effect, since you are only limited by the number of items you can attune (not 'enchantments').






            share|improve this answer











            $endgroup$

















              3












              $begingroup$

              No, you only attune once




              ..., any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




              The above phrase simply refers to the fact that an armblade can be enchanted in the same way as any other magical weapon.



              That is, magical weapons in the Dungeon's Masters guide (and other sources) state the kinds of weapons that can hold a given type of enchantment.



              For example, "Vicious Weapon" says "Weapon(any)". Meaning that potentially any kind of weapon could be found that has this type of magic: A vicious longsword, a vicious warhammer and so on.



              So, what this is saying is that you could get a vicious armblade in the same way that you could get a vicious longsword. But even if the armblade always requires attunement anyway, this has no additional effect, since you are only limited by the number of items you can attune (not 'enchantments').






              share|improve this answer











              $endgroup$















                3












                3








                3





                $begingroup$

                No, you only attune once




                ..., any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




                The above phrase simply refers to the fact that an armblade can be enchanted in the same way as any other magical weapon.



                That is, magical weapons in the Dungeon's Masters guide (and other sources) state the kinds of weapons that can hold a given type of enchantment.



                For example, "Vicious Weapon" says "Weapon(any)". Meaning that potentially any kind of weapon could be found that has this type of magic: A vicious longsword, a vicious warhammer and so on.



                So, what this is saying is that you could get a vicious armblade in the same way that you could get a vicious longsword. But even if the armblade always requires attunement anyway, this has no additional effect, since you are only limited by the number of items you can attune (not 'enchantments').






                share|improve this answer











                $endgroup$



                No, you only attune once




                ..., any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.




                The above phrase simply refers to the fact that an armblade can be enchanted in the same way as any other magical weapon.



                That is, magical weapons in the Dungeon's Masters guide (and other sources) state the kinds of weapons that can hold a given type of enchantment.



                For example, "Vicious Weapon" says "Weapon(any)". Meaning that potentially any kind of weapon could be found that has this type of magic: A vicious longsword, a vicious warhammer and so on.



                So, what this is saying is that you could get a vicious armblade in the same way that you could get a vicious longsword. But even if the armblade always requires attunement anyway, this has no additional effect, since you are only limited by the number of items you can attune (not 'enchantments').







                share|improve this answer














                share|improve this answer



                share|improve this answer








                edited yesterday

























                answered yesterday









                PJRZPJRZ

                11.8k13457




                11.8k13457




















                    Smart_TJ is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.









                    draft saved

                    draft discarded


















                    Smart_TJ is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.












                    Smart_TJ is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.











                    Smart_TJ is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.














                    Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


                    • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

                    But avoid


                    • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

                    • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

                    Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


                    To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




                    draft saved


                    draft discarded














                    StackExchange.ready(
                    function ()
                    StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f143860%2fcan-an-armblade-require-double-attunement-if-it-integrates-a-magic-weapon-that-n%23new-answer', 'question_page');

                    );

                    Post as a guest















                    Required, but never shown





















































                    Required, but never shown














                    Required, but never shown












                    Required, but never shown







                    Required, but never shown

































                    Required, but never shown














                    Required, but never shown












                    Required, but never shown







                    Required, but never shown







                    -dnd-5e, magic-items, warforged, weapons

                    Popular posts from this blog

                    Creating 100m^2 grid automatically using QGIS?Creating grid constrained within polygon in QGIS?Createing polygon layer from point data using QGIS?Creating vector grid using QGIS?Creating grid polygons from coordinates using R or PythonCreating grid from spatio temporal point data?Creating fields in attributes table using other layers using QGISCreate .shp vector grid in QGISQGIS Creating 4km point grid within polygonsCreate a vector grid over a raster layerVector Grid Creates just one grid

                    Nikolai Prilezhaev Bibliography References External links Navigation menuEarly Russian Organic Chemists and Their Legacy092774english translationRussian Biography

                    How to link a C library to an Assembly library on Mac with clangHow do you set, clear, and toggle a single bit?Find (and kill) process locking port 3000 on MacWho is listening on a given TCP port on Mac OS X?How to start PostgreSQL server on Mac OS X?Compile assembler in nasm on mac osHow do I install pip on macOS or OS X?AFNetworking 2.0 “_NSURLSessionTransferSizeUnknown” linking error on Mac OS X 10.8C++ code for testing the Collatz conjecture faster than hand-written assembly - why?How to link a NASM code and GCC in Mac OS X?How to run x86 .asm on macOS Sierra